A Brief History of March On Harrisburg

March On Harrisburg was born in a D.C jail cell (a warehouse-turned-holding area) for the thousand plus protesters that had been arrested at the Capitol building with Democracy Spring, a nonpartisan movement to get big money out of politics in spring of 2016 that began with a 140-mile march from Philadelphia to Washington D.C. A few of our founders met along the march and discussed creating a democracy movement focused on passing pro-democracy, anti-corruption laws at the state level. Rabbi Michael Pollack, Executive Director of MOH, recruited other Pennsylvanians in that warehouse and made each of them commit to taking the fight for democracy and against corruption at the state level.

In fall, the MarchOnHarrisburg team selected our legislative agenda: ending gerrymandering, instituting a gift ban, automatic voter registration. These issues were selected because they correlate to legislation that has been previously introduced but has died in committee. Automatic voter registration has been dropped from the current campaign but the legislation introduced has only partisan support.

From January to May 2017, we lobbied 230 of our 253 PA State Legislators. In May, fifty activists marched for nine days and 105 milesfrom Philadelphia to Harrisburg, and then conducted five nonviolent direct actions over three days, resulting in 28 arrests.

In September 2017, we returned to the State Capitol, lobbying every House session day through November. In November, twenty-five activists marched for three days and 36 miles from Lancaster to Harrisburg. When legislators decided not to show up session on the day of our arrival in Harrisburg, five activists dressed as Waldo and were arrested in the main hallway in the State Capitol.

Meet Our Team

March On Harrisburg is a volunteer driven organization

Michael Pollack

Michael Pollack

Executive Director

michael@marchonharrisburg.org
Rachel Murphy

Rachel Murphy

Organizer & Art Director

rachel@marchonharrisburg.org
Ron Amchin

Ron Amchin

Legislative Researcher

ron@marchonharrisburg.org
Emmie DiCicco

Emmie DiCicco

Media Director

media@marchonharrisburg.org
Frank Kirkwood

Frank Kirkwood

Western PA Organizer

frank@marchonharrisburg.org
Kyle Moore

Kyle Moore

Organizer & Social Media Outreach

kyle@marchonharrisburg.org
Sean Leber

Sean Leber

Operations & Development Director

sean@marchonharrisburg.org
Xelba Gutierrez

Xelba Gutierrez

Eastern PA Organizer

xelba@marchonharrisburg.org
Reid Stever

Reid Stever

Organizer

reid@marchonharrisburg.org
John Randolph

John Randolph

Legislative Director

john@marchonharrisburg.org
Katrina Raser

Katrina Raser

Central PA Organizer

katrina@marchonharrisburg.org

Our Endorsing Organizations

March On Harrisburg is proud to be partnered with Represent.Us who has offered to help build and export our model and tactics to state capitals nationwide.

For every recurring donation you make to March On Harrisburg, Represent.US will match your donation 4 to 1! That means every $20 recurring donation generates $100 a month we can use to end corruption and restore democracy in Pennsylvania.